Review – Sainsbury’s Free From Apple Pie

Well it’s most definitely getting colder, and autumn has set in with considerable force. The chickens did not like Ophelia the other day, poor things resembling feathered ping pong balls. They were wise and retreated to their run, likewise we battened down the hatches and stayed in the warm.

The other day I spotted this apple pie in the fresh free from counter in Sainsbury’s. It’s the right time of year for fruit pies, and my pastry is usually hit or miss so I thought I’d give this a go.

Like a lot of gluten free products this is best eaten warm so 15 minutes later out it came looking all golden and tempting.

So did it pass the taste test? Mostly yes. The pastry was lovely and buttery, with no soggy bottoms here although I didn’t particularly like the sugar on the top, it gave a texture that was grainy and too crunchy for my liking.

The filling is generous and has a good tang with I think a Bramley apple filling should have. You can actually taste the apples, this is a bonus for gluten free- I do feel some brands over compensate with sugar, instead of trying to perfect taste.

On the whole I was impressed and despite the crunchy topping I would buy this again. It’s great if you are in a rush and need a dessert or ( like me) pastry isn’t your strongest point.

Have you tried these apple pies? Or anything else from the Sainsbury’s range? Let me know in the comments below.

Disclaimer: This is NOT a sponsored post. I purchased the items and all views are my own personal ones.

One thought on “Review – Sainsbury’s Free From Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

