Gluten Free Tiger Cake. 

As you may, or may not know, I have a three year old.  Those of you with kids will ( probably) tell you how, at times, the toddler years can be challenging, and I’m not just talking about allergies. 

I’ll paint you a picture, currently the obsession of LR is Thomas The Tank, Dinosaurs, Paw Patrol ( the theme tune makes my ears bleed) and animals. Which leads us on to the fact my birthday is this week and she thought it would be great if I have a birthday cake. Only Thing was madam thought a tiger cake would be great. Now if it’s anything like the dinosaur I attempted the other week, the cake was going to be a car crash- trying to explain that to a head strong tot was even worse.   The stropometer reached a level I think we have never seen before, and quite frankly I’ve no desire to see again.

So why am I babbling about my cake decorating disasters? Well the compromise was a tiger cake in the form of stripes ( sort of ) with chocolate and vanilla layers to look ( sort of) like a tiger,  and LO was promised to be able to like the bowl so the actual cooking could commence. 

  
 Don’t worry about the vanilla sponge looking a rather odd colour, yours will look great, ours had the addition of orange food colouring to add to the tiger theme. 

Ingredients 

  • 4 eggs
  •  100ml milk ( of choice) 
  • 250 ml oil I have used either coconut or sunflower
  • 250g caster sugar 
  • 1tsp vanilla extract 
  • 475g self raising flour ( I use Doves farm Gluten free) as a side note you can sub 75g of flour for ground almond which helps make the cake moist we don’t due to nut allergies. 
  • 25g Cocoa or raw cacao powder. 
  • 1tsp baking powder

Method 

  • Preheat oven to 180C /Gas Mark 4 
  • Line a 23cm cake tin 
  • Lightly beat the eggs then mix with the milk, oil and vanilla extract. Add 175 g of flour and whisk until smooth
  • Get 2 bowls pour half this mixture in 1 along with 1/2 tsp baking powder and another 175g of flour
  • In the other pour the rest, add the cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp baking powder and the remaining flower. 
  • In the centre of your tin put 2 large spoonfuls of white mixture, then the same of chocolate directly on top. Keep doing this until the tin is full

  

  • Don’t worry if it’s not perfect circles I had to improvise a bit at the side but it adds to the effect of the cake. 
  • Put in the oven and cook for 40-50 minutes or until an inserted skewer comes out clean. 
  • I let it cool for 10 mins in the tin before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. 

  

Et voila there you have your marble ( I mean tiger) cake. My only notes to add would be that I think it would look great decorated as a chocolate drippy edge cake with the full works in terms of a mountain of chocolates on top.  

It’s better eaten fairly quickly as well, I find the gluten free version has a tendency to go dry quite quickly, but it goes wonderfully with a cup of tea, and I fact the dry sponge I made into a chocolate and orange trifle….. Buts that’s another post. 

Leave a Reply

