Review- Gluten Free Toad in The Hole 

  Hello to you all, I hope the first week back wasn’t too difficult? All great this end I’m just hoping for snow at the end of the week. In my best Elsa voice I WANT to build a snowman. 

Anyway I was thinking its a new year, so a new review wouldn’t go amiss. Wondering through my local Morrisons the other day I spotted this gluten free Toad in the Hole in the frozen section. At £1.97 I thought I’d give it a go. 

  
 It’s easy to cook, from frozen and straight in the oven, great if you need  a dinner in a hurry. I have to say the portion size is very generous as well, my negatives is that it is high in fats so would only be a once in a while thing for me. I served mine with vegetables and onion gravy 

  
  This is a product of 2 halves. 1 that is really quite tasty, and the other that really is not. I enjoyed the sausages, they had a good hint of pepper for a warming kick and appeared to have a high meat content which gives a great texture. I also enjoyed the crispy Yorkshire that had risen round the sausages, it was light and airy with a good crunch. Sadly that’s where it ended. 

  

  My main moan is that the texture of the Yorkshire pudding under the sausages was very dense and stodgy, the taste was pleasant enough but I struggled with slab like pudding and gave up on it in the end. It’s a shame, and I realise that without gluten you struggle to get a good rise, but it is possible with a Yorkshire Isabel’s  is excellent and Tesco free from mix gets my thumbs up as well. 

  So my overall verdict, a mediocre meal that in fairness I won’t be buying again, but it is a handy freezer meal if you are in a rush and need  something to eat. 

Have you tried this, what are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below. 

Cuddle Fairy
Leave a Reply

