Cherry Clafoutis Gluten Free 

I love cherries, I mean not just like them I LOVE cherries. They are my sweets of sorts.  So this recipe is great because is combines cherries and cherry brandy, awesome paring don’t you think. 

That and the new additions to the family, the chickens ( all 14 of them) are laying, so eggs are something I’m not short of.  I’m not complaining though, I did however complain when they scratched up my lettuce. 

This recipe is also so easy, although I’m not by any means claiming I invented it, it’s been around for years, originating from 19th century France I believe. However I’ve put a glutenfree tweak on it.  One more point, if your don’t like cherries, don’t worry use blackberries, blueberries, or raspberries instead.

   

Ingredients 

  • 400g halved and pitted cherries
  • 4 tbs cherry brandy or Kirsch 
  • 100 ml milk
  • 150 ml double cream 
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or fresh vanilla ( one stick) 
  • 4 eggs 
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 25g gluten free plain flour 

Method 

  • Preheat oven to 180c and grease a shallow flan dish. 
  • Soak your cherries in the kirsch. 
  • In a pan heat the milk, cream and vanilla. Heat yo almost boiling. 
  • In a separate bowl whisk the eggs and sugar together, and then add the flour, mixing until you have a smooth texture. 
  • Pour your milk into the egg mixture, mixing well to prevent lumps. 
  • Pour into your flan dish and place the cherries into the custard. 
  • Cook for 30-35 minutes until risen. 
  • Serve warm ( it’s better in my opinion) with cream. 

There you have it. Easy and delicious. Enjoy. 

Leave a Reply

