Review Newburn BakeHouse Crumpets

It’s fair to say that this year has seen the launch of a whole host of new free from products. I’m not complaining, more choice is always a good thing. I was quite excited to hear the Newburn BakeHouse ( the gluten free side of Warburtons) were launching a new crumpet. 

  
Now along with trying to perfect my own, I’m not there yet but bear with me, the other crumpets out there are M&S (horrid) and Genius ( taste ok but funny texture) so I was wondering what are these going to be like. I mean in my head the bar was fairly high as I love Newburns artisan loaves so I’d assumed these would be the same high standard. The texture is very similar to their ordinary crumpets, and they toasted well, I personally like my crumpet crispy ( no puns please) so double toasted it, and went old school with just butter on. They are hands down the best I’ve tasted. They are like actually proper crumpets, no crumbly texture or stodgy mass but a proper tasty breakfast or teatime treat. 

  
  My only fault is they are expensive £2 for 4 crumpets but it’s matched with genius and given the choice between the two I’d be picking these. So would I buy them again- too right but I’ll be hiding them from the other half or he’d scoff them all in an instant. I should add they are available from Tesco and Sainsburys stores. 

Disclaimer: I purchased these myself, all views are my own and honest. 

Leave a Reply

