Review Marks and Spencer Gluten Free Cheesecake

Firstly apologies for being quiet this week, my internet has had gremlins but ( and I hope I’m not tempting fate) it appears to be fixed now. So back to my blog it is. So the illusive extended “Made Without” has been slowly trickling into M&S and it is very much improved. Macaroni cheese, beef lasagne  , Apple pie and trifle as just some of the new products. Oh an this a gluten free New York Cheesecake. 

  

Now I’m sad I know but I find this quite exciting, I love cooking but sometimes you are in a rush, or time is waving you goodbye, and you need a pudding for your gluten free friend or aunt or however, – tah da ( if it’s in stock at you local one yet ). 

  It’s smaller than their other cheesecakes but also £3.50 instead of £4. This is good but I will add you could serve it to all your guests and unless you said it was gluten free they would never know. I say all your guests, but if there is any one with other allergies such as nuts, dairy and egg then it’s not for them I’m afraid. 

So the taste test, taken at a friends house with out the little ones ( I know it sounds mean but I think meaning eating something they can’t have in front of them). The base is crisp and made with a gluten free digestive type biscuit. The topping is rich, and creamy with a good vanilla taste, you can see the vanilla in it but ….. Here’s my negative it is delicious but gets very samey and, well a bit boring after each mouthful. The creamy texture is lovely but that and the biscuit crunch is all you get,  and this is just my opinion it would go so well with a fruit layer or coulis served on the side to enhance the cheesecake ( lemon or strawberry I would do). 

  
  So will I be buying is again, well yes I can see it being handy for family get togethers etc, but I will be adding a fruit accompliment to enhance it further. That and bringing my bike out of its winter hiding to help burn the calories off. 

  
Have you tried this, or any of the new range? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below. 

4 thoughts on “Review Marks and Spencer Gluten Free Cheesecake

  1. difficultdiner says:

    I love the gluten free range at M&S, my favourite is the chocolate cake! I have been really looking forward to trying the cheesecake, I’ll make sure to buy some fruit coulis to go with it – thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

