Rhubarb and Ginger Compote

So it’s the first day of spring, and the gardens are starting to come to life. I confess this year will be rewarding after I went all good life last year. So my rhubarb is ready to pick so I’ve been playing around with recipes to see what I can come up with. 

  
This compote is first. It’s great with yoghurt and granola for a breakfast, as a base for a fruit fool or a crumble. I love ginger and it works so well with rhubarb so this compote is delicately spiced as well. Even better it’s gluten free, nut free, suitable for those following a Paleo diet as well as vegetarians to. 

Ingredients

  • 750g rhubarb chopped into thumb sized pieces
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • Zest and juice of 1 orange
  • Fresh or crystallised ginger chopped up ( thumb sized piece) 
  • 1 -2 tbs agave nectar ( you can use 100g caster or 75g coconut sugar) 

Method

  • Put the rhubarb and ginger into a pan along with the Orange zest and juice. 
  • I also put a couple of table spoons of water in as well. 
  • Add the cinnamon stick and your sugar
  • Bring to the boil then turn the heat down to a gentle simmer. 
  • After about 5 minutes the rhubarb will be cooked (stewed). It will break down, but I prefer it when it still holds its shape a little. 
  • Serve however you prefer. I’ve teamed it with soya yogurt and my homemade granola. 

  

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb and Ginger Compote

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I *thought* this looked like a fool, which I’ve only recently learned about – just so good! And the rhubarb and ginger compote looks so worth trying. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

