My Free From Banana Flapjacks

Well they are free from a lot of things, but not taste. I’ve been playing around with these for a while, and since I’ve been cutting my refined sugar intake I’ve now incorporated a refined sugar free flapjack as well. I’m not going to say it’s sugar free-that would be like eating cardboard, more that the sugar in these is all natural ingredients, so great for those following a clean eating plan. 

 I promise you it’s so so easy to make these flapjacks, once baked they keep for about 4/5 days. And are great for a on the go breakfast or healthier snack for the whole family. 

  

  

Ingredients

  • 2 tbs coconut oil
  • 2 tbs honey (or date syrup) 
  • 1/2 tsp  ground cinnamon 
  • 2 ripe bananas 
  • 2 cups rolled oats (not quick oats)  I used gluten free
  • 1/2 cup raisins ( dried apricots work well to) 

 Method 

  • Preheat your oven to 180 c and line your baking tin
  • Measure out your oats and fruit and mix in a large bowl. 
  • Gently melt the coconut oil and honey in a pan. Add the cinnamon
  • Mash up the bananas and mix with the melted oil. 
  • Add wet ingredients to the dry and mix until well combined.
  • Turn out Into your pan and flatten down with a spoon
  • Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until the oats are golden. 
  • Cut into pieces in the tin and leave to cool. 
  • When cooled enough to tough turn out onto a wire ran to cool further. 

  

I should add  I don’t mash my banana smooth as I quite like a few chunks left in the flapjack. Also feel free to add nuts/seeds as well. They all make for a yummy treat. 

There you have it, if you try this or another flavour combination let me know in the comments box. 

2 thoughts on “My Free From Banana Flapjacks

Leave a Reply

