Gluten Free Chicken Goujons 

I know it’s veganuary and I’ve been experimenting with some veg based dishes but I thought you may want to know about these delicious morsels.  My toddler, like many I assume, loves the odd beans, chips and …..(fill in the processed crap option here).  Now, and I’m not being precious about this, I would rather make her these Goujons than buy turkey twizzlers. ( if you do that I’m by no means having my judging pants on) I just thought I’d put this recipe up to show how easy they are to make. It also means I can make a gluten free, nut free, dairy free option easily. 

  
Ingredients 

  • 2-3 chicken breasts cut into strips 
  • About 4-5 slices of bread processed into breadcrumbs 
  • 1 bowl of flour ( I used doves farm plain gluten free) 
  • 1 shallow dish of beaten egg 
  • Salt/pepper 

Method

Preheat oven to 180 oC 

  • Cut chicken into strips 
  • To make the bread crumbs I toast the bread on a low heat then process into crumbs. Turn this into a shallow dish. 
  • Season bread crumbs with salt and pepper (optional) 
  • In turn place a strip in the flour, then egg then breadcrumbs. 
  • Place on a baking tray. 
  • Repeat for all strips 
  • Drizzling in oil (I use olive oil) I not stingy on it either.
  • Place in the oven and bake for 20-25 minutes until the crumb coating is golden and crispy 

So there you have it a quick, easy recipe for chicken Goujons that are much healthier than their freezer department counterparts. I should add you can make fish fingers the same way. 

Have you tried any variations to this? Let me know in the comments below. 

  

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chicken Goujons 

Leave a Reply

