Gluten Free Victoria Sponge Cake 

So back to work we all trudge, (I’m not complaining I love my job and blog) The weather is rubbish and we are in that post Christmas slump. I’m sorry for those who have started diets etc but I thought this classic recipe would cheer you all up on these gloomy days. 

You can’t beat a classic cake and this is no different. It’s also easy to tweak to make gluten free, nut free and dairy free, hell you can even do refined sugar free if you want. I didn’t today, the decorations have come down, mini me was having a diva strop to end all strops ( the  Christmas tree had left the building) and I needed the energy. 

  

The basic recipe is fairly straight forward and can be adapted to various flavours with ease. 

Ingredients 

  • 225g butter or dairy free alternative 
  • 225g sugar
  • 4 eggs 
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence 
  • 200g self raising flour
  • 25g cornflour
  • 1/4 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1-2 tbs milk of your choice 

Filling 

I used my homemade Blackcurrant  jam see the recipe for it HERE

450ml whipped cream (whipped coconut cream works well for a non dairy alternative) 


Method 

  • Preheat oven to 180 degree
  •  Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, I use my ken wood but you can use a hand mix or food processor.
  • Beat in the eggs one at a time 
  • Add the vanilla essence
  • Sift in the flour, corn flour and xanthan gum and then fold in. 
  • Add the milk if needed to thin the mixture a little 
  • Split between 2 cake tins and cook for about 20-25 minutes until the top springs back or a skewer comes out clean. 

Leave to cool completely before adding the jam and cream to the centre. I put some halved strawberries in as well but this is optional. 

Sprinkle the top of the cake with icing sugar- it’s not vital but looks pretty. 

Enjoy with a cup of tea. 

  

So there you have it, if you try then let me know how you get on, or what variations you enjoy the best in the comments below. 

Leave a Reply

