Gluten Free Pasta carbonara 

It’s cold outside, I’m sad we don’t have any snow and the dog has chewed my welly boot (she’s off the Christmas list) so I thought something warm and hearty would be perfect to dinner, then I thought that my followers may want a recipe to warm their cockles as well- so here goes. 

  
I know it’s easy yo open a jar of sauce, but really this is easy to and much more tasty, the added bonus is that I’m yet to meet a child who doesn’t like pasta. The pasta I used here is by Doves Farm. They have a nut free policy, so this dish is perfect for nut allergy sufferers as well. 

Ingredients 

  • 75g of dried pasta per person
  • 1 onion chopped 
  • 150 g Gammon ham or pancetta diced into cubes
  • 40 g grated Parmesan plus extra to serve. 
  • Generous 2 handfuls of frozen peas 
  • 100 ml of cream (or dairy alternative) 
  • 1 egg plus one extra yolk

Method 

  • Beat the eggs, and mix with the Parmesan and cream. season with salt and pepper and set aside. 
  • In a frying pan, gently cook the onion and then add your meat. Cook until the meat gets some colour  and starts to go crispy. 
  • In another pan cook your pasta ( this gluten free variety takes about 9-10 minutes) 
  • I like to add a little of the starchy pasta to the onion/ bacon mixture it helps create a glossy sauce. 
  • Add your peas to start to warm through. 
  • Once the pasta is cooked drain, put back in the pan and combine with the frying pan ingredients. 
  • Add the egg/cheese mixture ( the heat from the pain will gently cook the egg). 
  • I save some extra pasta water and add a couple more spoonfuls to give the carbonara a lovely glossy texture. 
  • Serve with extra Parmesan on top. 

Please note you don’t have to add peas, I just use it as a way to get veg into my mini diva on a fussy day. 

  
So there you have it a quick, simple delicious dinner for the whole family. Have you made carbonara? Or got any other twists to the recipe? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

