Cheese and Tomato Quiche- Gluten free

It’s that time of year, I’m over run with tomatoes and the chickens are now laying lots of eggs. This combined with mini me’s demands for ‘cake’ (I’m wicked I know but it’s cooked in the oven and she thinks that means it’s cake ) meant that quiche was the dish of the day. 

  
  Make no mistake I love ready made pastry for its convenience with my personal favourite being Silly Yak– think about the name, I’m blonde so it took me a while. However today I had to make my own, it’s not too challenging but can break easily being gluten free. The xanthan gum helps as a binding agent. 

For The Pastry

200g plain flour

100g butter

1/4tsp xanthan gum

4tbs water. 

  • Combine the flour, butter and xanthan gum and mix with your fingers or in a processor until it resembles breadcrumbs. 
  • Add the water and combine to form a sticky dough. 
  • Rest in the fridge for 15 minutes. 
  • After this time roll out the pastry and line a 8 or 9 inch pie tin or dish. 
  • Prick the base and blind bake for roughly 20 minutes at 180 C 

Filling 

250g grated cheese

5 Eggs beaten

100mls milk

200mls cream

Tomatoes (optional) 

  • Beat the eggs and add the milk and cream. Give a thorough beat again. 
  • Place the cheese in the case and pour over the egg/milk mixture. 
  • Arrange your tomatoes on top. I used cherry as that is what’s been growing this year but slices are fine if you prefer. 
  • Bake in the oven at a reduced temperature of 160C  for about 30-40 minutes 
  • Remove from the oven , it will set further as it cools. 

Enjoy your bake, have a slice and put your feet up unless like me, you have a toddler, then use as fuel to run round after said little person. 

close up

Leave a Reply

